Congratulations to the Class of 2017!

Congratulations to the most recent graduates of our Undergraduate Programs!

This spring, 187 Political Science undergraduate students graduated from our undergraduate programs. Of this graduating class, 161 students were Political Science Majors, four achieved a Combined Major in Political Science and Philosophy, five earned the Combined Major in Political Science and Economics, 12 graduated with Honours in Political Science, and five achieved Honours in Political Science with International Relations.

We congratulate all of our recent graduates on achieving their hard-earned degrees, and we thank them for their contribution in the classroom and to our department!

In a separate ceremony, we celebrated the achievements of a number of our top undergraduate students at our Spring 2017 Award Ceremony. Fatima Al-Fahim, Sharla Walker, Matthew Nakatsu, Shona Zhang and Rachel Herold were each recognized with awards for their outstanding academic achievements (full award details below).

In addition, we were honoured to welcome Preston Manning to our ceremony. Mr. Manning received an honourary degree from UBC at the spring convocation ceremony, and he was good enough to join us for our departmental ceremony. He has been on the Advisory Board to the Center for the Study of Democratic Institutions and was instrumental with Max Cameron (Director of the CSDI) in creating the Summer Institute for Future Legislators.

2017 Student Award Winners

Robert Lorne Stanfield Prize in Political Science – $100

A prize of the value of $100 is awarded on the recommendation of the Department of Political Science to a student with an outstanding record in this field of study. This award has been endowed by individual donors on the occasion of Mr. Stanfield’s first official visit to British Columbia as Leader of the Opposition.

Winner: Fatima Al-Fahim



Walter D. Young Prize – $150

As a memorial to Professor Walter D. Young, a distinguished teacher, scholar, alumnus, and participant in the university community, his friends and colleagues have endowed a prize of $150 to be awarded to the best student in Canadian politics. The award is made on the recommendation of the Department of Political Science.

Winner: Sharla Walker



Goel Prize in Political Science – $500

A $500 graduating prize is offered by Dr. and Mrs. D.P. Goel and family in memory of the victims of the Jewish Holocaust. The award is offered to an outstanding graduating student in political science and is made on the recommendation of the department.

Winner: Matthew Nakatsu


Kevin Wells Prize – $500

A $500 prize has been endowed by friends to honour the memory of Kevin Wells, a UBC student in political science who died prematurely in 1981. The prize is awarded on the recommendation of the Department of Political Science to a student studying Canadian politics who best combines academic achievement and community service.

Winner: Shona Zhang



Political Science Gold Medal – $500

A medal is awarded to the most outstanding student in the graduating class in the Political Science B.A. Program and is made on the recommendation of the Department of Political Science.

**The winner’s name is engraved on the inaugural plaque (presented at the reception). The medal is currently being engraved and couriered to the winner.**

Winner: Rachel Herold