Boyer Prize Awarded to Miriam Matejova, Stefan Parker and Peter Dauvergne On March 8th, 2019, the Australian Institute of International Affairs awarded Miriam Matejova, Stefan Parker and Peter Dauvergne the Boyer Prize for 2018, for their article, “The politics of repressing environmentalists as agents of foreign influence” (Australian Journal of International Affairs, Volume 72, Issue 2, 2018). The Boyer Prize is awarded annually to commend the best article published […]

Brian Job awarded Japanese Foreign Minister’s Commendation A ceremony and reception honouring Brian Job at the Japanese Consulate General was held to celebrate his award for the work he has done with Japanese colleagues on the issue of security and cooperation between Canada and Japan over many years.     Brian L. Job (PhD, Indiana University) is Professor of Political Science and a […]

Special to the Globe and Mail: Brilliant scholar Alan Cairns helped shape political thought in Canada To read the Globe and Mail’s full obituary on the late Alan Cairns, click here, or read text below. To read the Department’s in memoriam post on Alan Cairns, click here. MICHAEL VALPY SPECIAL TO THE GLOBE AND MAIL PUBLISHED SEPTEMBER 16, 2018 In 1976, two freshly minted young scholars – Roger Gibbins and Rick […]

2018 Undergraduate Awards Following the Spring 2018 Convocation, our Department held its annual award ceremony to recognize our top undergraduate students and essay prize recipients. Congratulations to all of the winners and to the entire class of 2018! Event photo gallery below. Undergraduate Awards Political Science Gold Medal & the Department of Political Science Scholarship A gold medal […]

Barbara Arneil wins APSA David Easton Award Barbara Arneil, Head of Department and Professor, has been awarded the 2018 David Easton Award from the American Political Science Association (APSA). APSA’s Foundations of Political Theory Section bestowed the honour for her recently published book, Domestic Colonies: The Turn Inward to Colony (Oxford University Press, 2017). Arneil shares the award with co-winner, Clare Chambers, […]

Allen Sens awarded 2018 CPSA Prize for Teaching Excellence The Canadian Political Science Association has awarded UBC Political Science Professor of Teaching, Allen Sens, with the Fifth Annual Excellence in Teaching Prize.

Barbara Arneil named winner of the CPSA 2018 C.B. Macpherson Prize in Political Theory Congratulation to UBC Political Science Professor Barbara Arneil, who received the 2018 C.B. MacPherson Prize in Political Theory, from the Canadian Political Science Association, for her book Domestic Colonies: The Turn Inward to Colony.  The C.B. Macpherson Prize was established to honour the life and work of Crawford Brough Macpherson (1911-1987), an internationally renowned teacher and […]

Jean Laponce Prize for Top BA Honours Thesis On November 28, 2016, our friend and colleague, Professor Emeritus Jean Laponce, passed away. Jean joined our department in 1956, as the first Full-Time political scientist, and taught here until 1991. Jean left an indelible mark not only within our own community, but on the broader Political Science community, particularly the International Political Science Association (IPSA). […]

Mark Warren named winner of Killam Research Prize! A big congratulations to UBC Political Science Professor Mark Warren for winning the Killam Research Prize for his exceptional work done in democratic theory! The UBC Killam Research Prize recognizes outstanding research and scholarly contributions. Dr. Warren was awarded the prize in the Arts and Humanities catergory. For more information on the Killam Research Prizes […]

Gyung-Ho Jeong named winner of Duncan Black Prize for 2017 Congratulations to Associate Professor Gyung-Ho Jeong! He has won the Duncan Black Prize for the Best Paper published in Public Choice (2017) by a “senior” scholar for his article “The Supermajority Core of the US Senate and the Failure to Join the League of Nations.” For details on the Public Choice Society prizes and awards, click […]