UBC’s Department of Political Science is a vibrant and diverse community of scholars, students, and alumni who are actively engaged in timely and innovative research.

With over 35 full-time faculty members who are leading researchers and innovative teachers in the key subfields of our discipline, we are committed to research and teaching excellence.

Offering both undergraduate and graduate degrees, we provide students with a broad and deep understanding of the forces that shape citizenship, democratic development, law, public policy, society, the economy, international relations, and the politics of the future.

We pride ourselves on creating a supportive, respectful, inclusive, diverse, innovative, and engaged learning environment that includes numerous experiential and community service learning opportunities.

We specialize in Indigenous politics, critical political theory and identity politics, democratic theory and practice, political behaviour, parties and elections, comparative public policy and institutions, environmental politics, international norms, institutions and governance, and human security. We are exceptionally strong in quantitative methods and political theory and have regional area strengths in the study of politics in Asia, the Americas, Europe, the United States, and Canada.

Located in Vancouver, British Columbia on the traditional, ancestral, and unceded territory of the xʷməθkʷəy̓əm (Musqueam) people, we are a community of faculty members, practitioners, students, research, and support staff, all working together to advance the study and understanding of political science.

UBC Affiliations

Centres & Programs