Prof. Antje Ellermann awarded the Charles H. Levine Memorial Book Prize

Congratulations to Professor Antje Ellermann who was co-awarded the Charles H. Levine Memorial Book Prize 2022 by the International Political Science Association’s Research Committee on the Structure of Governance for her book, The Comparative Politics of Immigration: Policy Choices in Germany, Canada, Switzerland, and the United States.

Professor Antje Ellermann

From the announcement:

“Ellermann offers a fascinating and insightful investigation into the diversity of immigration policy choices, and the causes of policy change or persistence over time and across jurisdictions. The book offers a novel theoretical, conceptual, and empirical contribution to the institutional analysis of the politics of immigration policy making: Spatial and temporal stability and change in liberal and restrictive immigration policies across policy arenas are the products of distinct types of political insulation with their distinctive policy logics that inform the capacity of policy makers. It is a superb example of an innovative theoretical argument used to understand a pressing public policy issue that pushes the public policy literature forward by emphasizing both actor preferences and institutional settings forming arenas to pursue them. A masterful achievement and a must-read for immigration scholars, political and policy scientists, institutionalists, and policy makers.”

About the Award:

The Charles H. Levine Memorial Book Prize is awarded to a book that makes a contribution of considerable theoretical or practical significance to public policy and administration, takes an explicitly comparative perspective and is written in an accessible style. It is named in honour of Charles H. Levine, who was an outstanding scholar in the fields of public policy and administration.